Well for my first blog post I was going to have all sorts of pictures to catch up on what I haven't been blogging about.
First post FAIL.
I lost our little USB memory card converter thing. I apologize for sucking at this already but hopefully next time I'm here I'll be able to give you guys something good.
Ok so since I don't have pictures, I'll have to catch y'all up a little bit.
I'll start at the back of the house and work my way forward mmmkay?
The laundry room - We have a washing machine! No hot water yet though.
We have the dryer, but it's not hooked up yet. We have to get another breaker, make a hole for ventilation, and install an outlet. The wall dividing the laundry room from the bathroom is up and insulated, just waiting on sheet rock so we can make it pretty.
The bathroom - We have a working sink and toilet! Ok so the toilet isn't totally complete...we need a new plunger thing because if you let it, the toilet overflows, but we're so close! No tub yet, we need to build a wall for the shower pipe and need to buy knobs to turn the water on and off with. We also need to buy green rock to cover the walls. Between where the previous tiny bathroom was and where our new current bathroom is, there was a wall that had to be torn down to move the tub, so Joe took care of it. We rebuilt the wall once the tub was moved and it's now covered and waiting on sheet rock and green rock.
The kitchen - We have a runing fridge! We don't have a stove, but we have a small eye to cook on and a microwave. (Can I tell you how much I miss baking??) We have storage space for our food and dishes by using those big tupperware drawer things and an old blanket shelf that we didn't really use. Sure it's a little ghetto but cabinets are expensive and are not our initial concern here people. This room is also our makeshift dryer. We hung a drapery pole across the old cabinets and hung clothes on it in front of a fan. Works pretty well for now, but maybe the sun will come out soon and we can hang a real clothes line!
The living room - This room has the most progress and is the first room in the house if you come through the front door. This is also what we are using as our bedroom for the time being since what will be our bedroom isn't even close to finished. We have a working ac, tv, video game, lights, alarm clocks, and all those other comforts of home. (Although no internet or satellite just yet. Boo.) This is the room we spend most of our time in.
Now I didn't mention the other three rooms because, well they don't have any progress. Except for the room to the left of our living room (if you were coming from the back of the house) Momma has cleaned and organized that room and that's where our black futon is and where they stay when they don't want to go home.
I know it doesn't sound like much but I promise when you see the pictures, you'll realize we've done quite a bit with so little resources!
Until then....
P.S. I apologize for the lackluster of this wickedly boring post. I promise I'm usually much more witty. There's just something about the library that totally kills my vibe. Maybe it's the homeless guy in the chair next to me, sleeping.
Wednesday, October 7, 2009
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)